Too Damn Hot

Dreaming of this

Dreaming of this

I have just found out I am going to Laos for a few days filming. I have heard so many good things about Laos over the years from travelers, so I am really looking forward to getting there at long last.

I have to do some filming of dams for the Conservation International film I am currently working on. The logistics are going to be interesting as I imagine getting to remote areas won’t be any easier that it is here in Cambodia.

We are in May now and damn is it hot, I feel like I’m melting.

It should start to cool down a little in the next few weeks but I am seriously considering moving to get air con, at least in my office. The seasons here don’t vary in temperature very much, for most of the year it’s around 35 degrees but it hits 40 for a couple of months (April/May). I always look forward to the few days each year (December) when the temperature plummets to a positively nippy 28 degrees. After almost 10 years out here I think I would freeze to death if I had to move back to the UK.

We had the first heavy storm of the season a week or so back. It turned out the neighbors had done some work on their roof and blocked the pipes from the roof, the result was the landlady upstairs got flooded and it soon ended up in my place. Amazingly my whole apartment was flooded except for my editing room, which is full of expensive electrical equipment.

Next day the (60 year old) electrics went mad and the cables in the walls started making worrying shorting out noises. Two days to fix that, they ended up rewiring the whole house, which at least gives me more confidence I won’t come home to a smoldering wreck one day.

It’s been a frustrating month so far, I can’t wait to go to Laos.

Hmm! As I type this another storm seems to be coming this way. I hope they fixed the pipes properly or it’s going to be a long night.

About Allan Michaud

English Wildlife Photographer/Environmental Filmmaker based in Cambodia
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

