Superstars

I just heard that a short film I put together for Conservation International recently was shown at a board meeting a few days ago. Apparently the audience included Harrison Ford and Arnold Schwarzenegger. The film was shown as part of an internal competition among a number of projects, which was won hands down by the Cambodia programs entry.

I’m in the process of constructing a rig for my new camera. These new SLR stills cameras give amazing HD video, however they have several drawbacks when trying to film without a tripod. Most have pretty poor audio so you need to have a separate recording system or at least a proper mic. Most importantly they are next to impossible to hand hold so to get around this I am building a light frame, or rig, that I can mount an audio recorder and mic on as well as lights if I need them. The idea is you then have something with multiple ways to hold it as with a real video camera. Also the extra weight makes it much easier to reduce camera shake. You can buy various rigs but they tend to be upwards of $500.

I’m going the homemade route as I am fairly good with my hands and I have several more important things to spend 500 bucks on. I’m using the light aluminum box used for making cheap aluminum furniture or windows, the slightly thicker stuff seems pretty solid and it makes attaching brackets and mounts very easy. It will be interesting to see how it works when the quick release mount I need for the camera arrives in a day or so. I’ll post some pictures when it’s finished.

 

 

About Allan Michaud

English Wildlife Photographer/Environmental Filmmaker based in Cambodia
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

